Recipe #14: Orange Rosemary & Lemon Lavender Scones

Orange Rosemary Scones

I told you I’d be coming back for this flavor combination!

A couple weekends ago I visited my parents for my mother’s 60th birthday. Since she had loved the orange scones I made when I was there for Christmas, I decided I would do a little twist on the recipe and add in some rosemary. I planned to have these fresh out of the oven for when she returned from work (she works at a grocery store and has early morning hours), but, alas, she ended up leaving early and I was still in the process of assembling the dough when she walked inside the house. Luckily, these scones are fairly simple, so it was only about 20 minutes later that we were able to enjoy piping hot, glazed scones.

Among the gifts I gave my mother was a packet of dried lavender flowers from the Spice House. I’d made my lavender cupcakes for her birthday treat and we both wanted to try them in another application. Lemon Lavender Scones seemed like a good place to start. I used the exact same recipe as the orange scones, but substituted a lemon for the citrus and about a teaspoon of the dried flowers for the rosemary.

Both scones, I would say, were lacking a little bit when it came to the herbs. I’ll add more rosemary to the orange scones when I try them again. With the lemon scones, the flavor of the lemon overpowered the subtlety of the lavender, so here I would scale back on the lemon zest and perhaps only use lemon juice in the glaze to allow the lavender to be more pronounced. Don’t get me wrong – both sets of scones were delectable and we ate them all up without any hesitation. I just want to play with the amounts of herb and citrus to find that perfect balance of flavor.

Lemon Lavender Scones

Here is the recipe for the scones as I made them, inspired by the Glazed Orange Scone recipe from My Baking Addiction. In the future I’ll work on getting the flavors right and let you know how they turn out.

Orange Rosemary Scones
1/3 cup sugar
zest of one orange
1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
½ teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen
½ cup sour cream
1 egg

For the glaze:
3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 cup powdered sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
zest of one orange
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (not chopped)

Preheat oven to 400º and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a medium bowl, combine the sugar, orange zest, and rosemary; mix with your fingertips until the sugar is moistened and fragrant. Add in the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt and mix until combined.

Grate the butter into the flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingertips to work in the butter until all the pieces are coated and the mixture resembles coarse meal.

In a small bowl, whisk the sour cream and egg until smooth. Mix the sour cream mixture into the flour mixture using a fork until the dough starts to come together. Use your hands to press the dough into a bowl. I don’t worry about getting everything 100% incorporated – you don’t want the heat of your hands to start melting the butter or you’ll lose flakiness. I just press until it mostly holds together, then dump it onto the baking sheet and press it together again, then down until I get a disk about an inch high.

Cut the dough into 8 triangles and carefully separate so there’s an inch of space between each one. Bake until golden, 15-17 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes while you prepare the glaze.

In a medium bowl, whisk together until smooth the melted butter, powdered sugar, vanilla, orange zest, rosemary, and orange juice. Dip the tops of the scones into the glaze or drizzle over. I’m not big on tons of glaze, so I tend to cut the glaze portion of the recipe in half, but if you’re like most folks, you’ll probably want to wait until the first coating of glaze hardens, then dip or drizzle a second time.

For the Lemon Lavender Scones, substitute lemon zest and juice for the orange zest and juice, and use 1 teaspoon of dried lavender flowers in the scones and ½ teaspoon in the glaze.

One comment

Leave a Reply

