Why I Run

Runs last week:
It was too cold, too windy, and too depressing to head outside for a run this week. I know some people love this stuff, but I am not there yet. I stuck to the treadmill.

✧ 2.59 miles, 30 minutes – 11:34 pace
✧ 2.49 miles, 30 minutes, hills program – 12:02 pace
✧ 2.86 miles, 30 minutes – 10:29 pace

This is why I run

Because I can have a crap day at work, step outside or get on the treadmill, concentrate on my feet moving in front of me, my arms moving by my sides, my breath going in and out, and everything that happened before that moment and everything that I worry about happening after ceases to exist. It is just me and my body and what I am doing right now.

This is why I run.

Because sunrises never get old.

This is why I run (2)

Because I was never the athletic kid, the one who would place in track meet events, the one who could climb a rope, the one who could connect a bat with a baseball. I may not have been picked dead last, but it was well known that I was useless out there.

This is why I run.

Because when you tell the person pushing alcohol on you at a New Year’s Eve party, no thanks, I’m running a 5K tomorrow, they look at you like you’re crazy and kind of a badass and you secretly like it.

This is why I run (2) (1)

Because when the zombie apocalypse happens, I don’t have to run faster than the zombies. I only have to run faster than you.

This is why I run.

Because my legs are awesome. I spent years hating the skinny sticks that protrude from the lower half of my body until the day I realized that having skinny legs means I don’t chafe when I run in shorts. Win.

This is why I run (4)

Because 15 years ago I worked really hard and lost 25 pounds and I will never truly believe that those pounds aren’t just lurking around the corner, waiting to jump back on my body.

This is why I run.

Because there is nothing else that simultaneously makes you feel like your stomach is going to come gurgling up your throat, your legs are going to turn into jelly, and your skin is going to slide off your skeleton into a pool of sweat, and yet the birds are chirping, the sun is shining, and all is RIGHT with the world. The runner’s high is not a myth.

This is why I run.

Because it took me 31 years to discover that I can.

This is why I run.

Leave a Reply

