No Recipe Roasted Sweet Potato Breakfast (for Dinner) Hash

Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day…just not in the morning. I believe my love of breakfast foods at non-breakfast times stems from my childhood when my dad would go on work trips and my mom would serve up omelettes filled with sauteed mushrooms and melted cheddar or swiss cheese. They were a rare treat and these simple eggy dinners set me up for a lifetime of loving breakfast for dinner.

I’ve gotten away from loving omelettes so much (maybe I just don’t cook them right), but I do still love a good scramble or fry up with potatoes, bacon or sausage, and sauteed veggies. After a long workday, this is a quick, relatively healthy option that never gets old for me.

Here’s what I’ve been doing lately:

Sweet Potato Hash

First, roast a sweet potato. Better yet, roast several sweet potatoes so you have leftovers and you can eat them with other things or just on their own as a snack. I cube mine up, toss them with a little olive oil on a baking sheet, and sprinkle them with salt, pepper, and smoked paprika. I love the combination of sweet and smoky (think: candied bacon or chocolate and scotch), but you can always change up the spices for whatever you like best. Use cayenne pepper if you want a bit of heat, chipotle powder for some smoke and heat, cinnamon if you prefer to stay on the sweeter side, or add some herbs like thyme or tarragon to up the savory factor. Once the potatoes are all coated and lovely, I put them in the oven at 400F for about 30 minutes, giving them a nice toss halfway through. The potatoes are done when they are easily pierced with a fork.

While the potatoes are cooking, contemplate your veggies and/or meat of choice. If you’re doing meat, you’ll want to cook up a couple strips of bacon and crumble it, brown some sausage, or throw in some diced ham. For some added flavor, use your meat fat (mmm…meat fat) to cook your veggies. If you’re not using meat, a teaspoon of olive oil in a skillet should do the trick. Lately I’ve been eschewing the meat and just doing red peppers and onions. A variety of mushrooms would be fantastic as well, as would greens (spinach, kale, chard, etc.), and broccoli and cauliflower if that’s your thing. Shaved brussels sprouts might be good too, but I’m not of the brussels-sprouts-are-magic-veggie-candy troop, so I personally won’t be doing those anytime soon.

When your sweet potatoes, meat, and veggies are done, start on your eggs. Eggs take but a minute or two, so you can keep the other parts of the hash warm in the oven or on the stovetop without worrying about over-cooking them. Scramble up a couple in a skillet, fry them until the yolks are to your liking (I like them cooked medium, and then flip the eggs so the tops solidify), or do a poach if that’s your thing. And if that’s your thing, can you teach me to poach eggs? Because I love them, but have not yet mastered that.

Now, assemble your hash! Sweet potatoes on the bottom. Top with meat and eggs. Add eggs. Cover with cheese, if desired. And boom. Roasted sweet potato breakfast for dinner (or for lunch or for actual breakfast) hash. Enjoy with a cup of hot coffee, tea, juice, or a tall glass of water with your jammies on and your feet up on the coffee table because breakfast for dinner is one of the most comforting things I can think of. It never fails to turn my evening meal into a treat.

One comment

Leave a Reply

